Briefly.  Hudson’s House bill regarding texting is a waste of time…. Pure and simple…

Quick tell me the difference in fines between speeding over 15 miles an hour today, and fifteen years ago!

Man, just trying to find that answer would take all day; one would have to backtrack all changes of that section of code….. But anyone whose gotten two tickets spread across that amount of time, knows exactly how much they went up…. and it is over 100%…..

Was it effective in stopping a crime?

No.

And that is because a lot of things go into the judgment of deciding to speed; the cost of the fine is never one of them…

All this bill will do to texting, is make those tiny few more who get caught, hurt more.  Some simply don’t have access to that kind of money, or have to do something really awful in order to get it.  Many will not pay it and at some point in their future, will be informed by their arresting officer they have warrants out for their arrest.

The idiot belief that this will make one single person not text…. is mind boggling.  Just like the idea that by passing a law and putting flashing signs at your borders announcing it, would suddenly make people stop texting in their cars… Hell, I’ve seen policemen texting at stop lights….

Bottom line, when you have policemen flaunting Debbie Hudson’s law, it is bad law… How can anyone with half a brain argue it otherwise?

Now I understand that I’m partly superhuman. I now try to obey the law and not text while driving down the highway.  But normal humans can’t.  I understand the temptations. Life doesn’t work that way. You’re on your way to pick up someone and your phone lights up. Next stop light, you have to look at it.  Maybe they’re not there? Maybe they don’t need you anymore?

But years ago I decided to quit because I do know the danger.  I’ve scared myself too many times realizing that I hadn’t looked at the road in over 8 minutes….because my texts were so full of errors I simply had to correct them before sending.  If a meteor had opened a pothole right in front of me, I would have driven right in it.

I also know the reason I consciously chose to obey this impossible law to enforce, is mostly because I wanted to see if I was capable of mustering superhuman discipline, since my natural tendency was to text… Could I actually change my behavior and comply with a law that was completely unenforceable?  The answer turned out to be a yes; I met the challenge and passed the test.  But I know of no one else out there with as strong of a self-disciplinary will as I possess… Therefore, they will be doomed to fail….

So we have a dilemma.  We need to stop a behavior on our highways that will require incredible feats of change from every single person… incredible like getting off heroin.

Charging someone only the amount of extra stuff they pick up at the supermarket every week, is not going to do that…  Just buy basics one week, pay the fine, and next week you are back to normal.  No big deal.  You’re probably healthier and thinner too.

If you want to stop an addictive behavior, you need to set the penalty so high, it becomes the top of everyone’s conversation for a year….

WARNING:  TEXTING  WHILE DRIVING IS ILLEGAL IN DELAWARE.  FINES START AT $50,000.…..

That is the only way to stop addictive behavior… Nothing less than such a shock value, will cause any change in human’s behavior….

It will make even the police will stop texting while driving…..

 

 

 

